Gluten-free, Dairy Free Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Earlier this week I was doing some of our weekly shopping at Trader Joe’s (Gluten-free savior).  I always like to swing by the end-cap that has new items.  It can be like grocery Christmas…without the fat dude in the red suit or Baby Jesus…so maybe it’s more like a Grocery Birthday… Ya, it’s like my Grocery Birthday.  This week I was blessed with two great presents on my Grocery Birthday.  TJ’s GF Rolled Oats!  The other was coconut milk, which I love.  So this morning for breakfast I had oatmeal, brown sugar, sunflower seeds and coconut milk.  It was so good!

Now for what you are really here for.  GF, DF, Peanut Free Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies!  When I grabbed the bag of rolled oats at TJ’s I was parusing the back and noticed they had a cookie recipe.  I grabbed everything I needed at TJ’s and instead of the  peanut butter I replaced with their delicious Sun Butter.  (Made from sunflower seeds.)  One of my sons gets an upset stomach from pb so this is a great substitute.  Here is the recipe:

1/4 cup butter. (we used Earth Balance Natural Buttery Spread, which you can get at TJ’s)

1 1/4 tsp baking soda

3/4 cup sugar

3 cups of TJ’s rolled oats

3/4 cup brown sugar

6oz of chocolate chips (I used 8oz, never too much chocolate.  I also got the c.chips at TJ’s)

2 eggs

1/2 cup sunflower seeds or chopped walnuts (I used sunflower seeds)

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup of peanut butter (we used TJ’s Sun Butter)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  In a large bowl, combine sugar, brown sugar and butter and beat until creamy.  Add eggs, vanilla and baking soda and mix well.  Add peanut butter and mix.  Stir in oats, chocolate chips and nuts.  Place teaspoon full of dough on lightly greased cookie sheet about 2 inches apart.  (If I would have done a tsp the cookies would have been the size of one of my knuckles so I just scooped with regular spoon and made a ball.  (The “dough” doesn’t stick together so well but don’t you worry.  When you bake them they fuse together quite nicely to create a party in your mouth.)  Bake 10-12 minutes (my oven was 12 min) until lightly brown around edges.

I use Pampered Chef baking stones with all my cookies.  Make sure you let the cookies cool on cookie sheet for a few minutes before transferring to cooling rack or they will start to come apart.  Enjoy!  They are delicious!

Would have taken a picture of more but we ate them too fast and I took some to work.  This was the last one.  Then I ate him.  He was a good cookie.

Leave a Reply

